Depression, Social Anxiety

How Are You?

Since when did a how are you hurt so much?

A tight fake smile on my lips, an emptiness in my eyes. I’m fine, I’m fine, I’m fine I say, every time someone asks. They just don’t know.

They don’t know how I cry myself to sleep at night, how lost I feel within the crowd of students, the crowd making loneliness ever the more obvious.

They don’t understand the acute pain their words cause, the hollowness of my chest and the realization that I am not ok, but I will never admit it.

I am ok.

Leave a Reply

